Record Store Day Wrapup and Swag

I must admit, this has been one fan-freaking-tastic kinda day. Got off to an early start with RSD festivities, followed almost immediately by Manchester City bouncing hated Manchester United from the English FA Cup. I’ve settled in to an afternoon of listening to my RSD haul and preparing to cap the day off with a reservation at my beloved Ravenous Pig. Oh, and did I mention that my kids are spending the day with Grandma and the sweet sounds of Big Star and Flying Lotus aren’t competing with screams, yells, whines, and general sounds of chaos and destruction? Oh yeah, it’s good to be JLo today.

Before dinner, I thought I’d catalog and record the vinyl haul from today to close out this morning’s live blog.

First up, picked up three 7″ single (remember those?) releases: A new single from 80’s favorites the dBs, a collection of the first 3 singles from R.E.M’s Collapse Into Now, and a release of Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris covering Love Hurts (with the same song performed by Johnny and Jenny on the flip side).

I’m not going to lie to you, hearing Gram and Emmylou singing that song in vinyl analog glory is almost indescribably beautiful. There’s conflicting reports that say I may or may not have gotten a little misty eyed laying on the floor and listening to that this afternoon. Hell, just looking at it is making me sniff a little bit.

Next up are a couple of new 12″ releases that I picked up, one the new album from The Pains of Being Pure At Heart, Belong (not an RSD specific release, but one I’ve been wanting for a couple of weeks nonetheless) and a limited RSD release from Flying Lotus of alternative takes of tracks from his most excellent 2010 record, Cosmogramma (a part of the music snob starter kit 50).

The last two 12″ releases I picked up were the ones that had me most excited and were the ones I would have been most willing to get into a physical confrontation over if push had literally come to shove this morning. Thankfully, there was no need for me to come out of brawling retirement and unleash the pasty fists of over forty fury since I had the good sense to get there early this morning, and thanks to the very organized setup in place at Park Ave for RSD (limited, controlled entry, leaving plenty of elbow and browsing room in otherwise fairly cramped environs). Now, the cynic (Mrs. Lo) might point out that “most of the people there wouldn’t get what you were looking for anyway,” but I much prefer to think that my reasoning better explains the lack of physical violence in my day.

The first is another Gram Parsons related release, The International Submarine Band reissue, widely recognized as the first alt country record ever produced. It has versions of two great tunes recorded by Johnny Cash, Folsom Prison Blues and I Still Miss Someone. It also came with a bonus 7″. Here it is in all its analog, mono glory.

The last release was a boxed, “Test Pressing Edition” of Big Star’s classic Third. This is one of the best reissues I’ve ever seen, and was even more enticing since 5 of the 2000 editions produced contained an original test pressing of the record, quite a bonus for vinyl loving freaks like me. Even though I didn’t get one of those Wonka-esque golden ticket editions, the packaging of this version is one of the best examples I can show people of why it’s just cool to own vinyl, as this is a miniature piece of conceptual art. First, the outer box is a replica of the box for the original master tapes, replete with handwritten title:

Each edition also included several cool replicas of the original tracking sheets, lead sheets, and the mastering card for the record:

Very cool stuff indeed, and just a really impressive package and a fitting tribute to a great, great record (also one of the aforementioned MS 50). This alone would have been worth the wait in line this morning.

So, in short, a great RSD was had (and is still going on) down at Park Ave CDs. Kuddos to them for a great day and making it a festival type event, with lots of giveaways and bonuses, including another excellent t-shirt this year for those of us who spent north of $50. So goodbye , RSD, see you next April, but you shouldn’t wait until then to go visit your local independent record store. It’s good for you and will make you smarter, richer and more attractive to your preferred sex, be they opposite or not.  (not intended to be a factual statement – thanks Senator Kyl!) Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go get ready to get my Ravenous Pig on.

Cheers.

Posted on April 16, 2011, in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

