A fitness goal and more

I came to a bit of a decision this weekend. I’m going to sign up for, train and ride in next year’s MS 150 ride here in Florida  (the 2011 ride took place this past weekend). The ride is spread over 2 days, and has either a 100 mile Saturday/50 mile Sunday option, or a 75/75 option. I’m think I’m going for the 100/50 split, as it just sounds cooler to say I rode 100 miles in one day.

Actual image of me on bike*

*not intended to be a factual statement (thanks Sen Kyl. That was the gift that keeps on giving!

I’m doing this for 2 reasons. The first is selfish, the second less so. I’m by no means a pro cyclist, basically I’m just a fat guy on a bike riding for health and to get back into better shape. I’ll ride 4 or 5 times a week, with some 20-30 mile rides on the weekends sandwiched around some shorter 10-15 mile rides during the week. I consider myself lucky, I’m in good health, have great underlying numbers (cholesterol, blood sugar, and all that), but I would like to lose some more weight and I need a goal, a big goal, not just a generic “lose X pounds” kind of thing, to do it since I’m easily distracted and will lose focus otherwise. I have this ability to really hone in and concentrate on things that interest me, but if I’m not fully invested I’m off chasing the first shiny object or light on the floor that flashes by. So, may as well go big. The training and buildup will also give me something to write about on a consistent basis that you will hopefully find worth following and reading, so there’s that advantage as well. One can only write so many posts singing the praises of vinyl records and Ravenous Pig.

Other than the physical fitness side, I have a family member who was diagnosed with MS several years ago, and while she’s doing remarkably well, I’d like to do more to help improve treatments and find a cure. So the cause means something to me personally as well. There’s a fundraising component to participation in the ride, and I look forward to setting another goal in that area and meeting or beating that.

I’ve got some planning to do, both in terms of training for the actual race and setting up the blog. I think I’m going to create a separate page within the blog for training and ride posts, so hopefully that will make things easy to follow. Here’s where I need some help. First off I need a catchy name to tie everything together. I was thinking something like “From Fat to 150,” but maybe that’s a little too dramatic. Feel free to post your suggestions in the comments section or email them to me. Secondly, I’m going to do an official “mission statement” style kick off post (damn that PMP training seeps into everything) that I hope to send out for fundraising, sponsorship and supports requests, so I’d appreciate any of you who have a facebook account, blog, twitter, or other social media accounts reposting and linking to to that. I promise I won’t embarrass you. On purpose at least. If you have any suggestions on how best to set up the blog for something like that or to best spread the word through the social meeting pipeline, please feel free to share here or DM me on twitter @jlo3133 or hit me up through facebook or gmail if you have that. (dear lord I have way too much of an online footprint.)

Lastly, I’d greatly appreciate any words of encouragement along the way, even if it’s just a positive mention somewhere in cyber space. Like I said, I’m easily distracted and might need a reminder or two along the way to keep on track. Hopefully, this will be something fun to share with everyone and support a great cause at the same time. More to come in the very near future. Thanks in advance for your support, love and positive vibes.

Oh, and Happy American Craft Beer Week! Go out and drink a quality beverage somewhere this week. Demand better from your beer!

Cheers to you all.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yay for you! I’m looking forward to following your progress with your big goal and see if I can learn anything. Big goals haven’t worked for me in the past.

    I’m also excited about your PMP-style of organization, of course. I’d recommend you set up a charter and identify your key stakeholders. Seriously. Identify a few key folks to support you in your goal and give them a role to play in it. Do regular check-ins via the blog, maybe with bar charts for fundraising, and line graphs for actvity progression. What is the physical goal, to improve distance? Is speed a secondary goal? Measurable performance objectives, and all.

    I’m sorry, if I just sucked all the fun out, please ignore everything I said. But I could come up with more.

    Oh, and let me know if you come across any other cycling-type blogs for “normal” people. I’ve been looking for a few that I can read, but haven’t found what I’m looking for (i.e. not racing) – planning a trip to Italy next year where I’ll be doing some bike tours through Tuscan Hills. Plus, if you can find a biking blog community like Paula & Michelle found for running, it may help to spread your fundraising word.

    • Too funny. I had many of the same organizational thoughts as you. Not sure if that is sad or not. Somewhere Rita McCauley just got an unexplained, fuzzy, warm feeling though. Good idea about assigning key stakeholders and thanks for volunteering to be a Director of Data Collection and Organization. I’m thinking I need a creative type to help with marketing and such, maybe a cool logo or design for a cycling jersey. Though I do plan to pimp myself out to every company (esp biking gear suppliers) known to man. There is no limit to how much I will sell out. Don’t hold back on suggestions, especially a motto or title if one comes to mind. More soon.
      I haven’t had much luck yet finding an equivalent cycling community, but will admit that I haven’t looked all that hard yet. Most of the blogs I come across tend to be higher end, professional rider types. But I’m sure there is something out there.

      • Do not tease me with a directorship, ’cause I’ll slap that sucker on my resume in a heartbeat. More thoughts coming via e-mail later … and I think you already have a start to a brand here that you should use as your jumping off point. Plus, your main sponsors should be mellow mushroom, TRP, and Park Ave CDs.

      • I never tease when it comes to making up directorships. And I already am laying the groundwork with MM. I think a MM bike jersey has the potential to be pretty awesome.

    • Oh, and re: “the big goal.” I figured by declaring it publicly I tap into my reluctance to ever admit that I am wrong or can’t do something, so that I’d end up doing it out of spite if I had to. But then again I’m odd thy way so it may not provide much in the way of a roadmap. And very cool about the Italy trip/bike tour. I’m extremely jealous.

Leave a Reply

