A poll: what makes a good blog?

I need to phrase this kind of carefully, since it could easily sound obnoxious and like I’m belittling others, but that’s not my intention. I’m just trying to get a little information here. I’ve been writing a blog on and off in various iterations for about 5 years. I’ll admit freely that I tend to write much longer posts than most blogs that I like and read and that I generally post much less frequently. There’s a simple reason for this, I didn’t really care that much if anybody read it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy when people do, especially when they like it enough to come back, but I always viewed this as an actual “writing” exercise and outlet, so if I didn’t have anything that I could get a decent length post out of (say, 500 words, minimum) I just didn’t write.

Now I know full well this is the exact opposite of what good bloggers are supposed to do. You are supposed to post short posts with lots of pictures and not a lot of words and do it frequently since a) people’s already short attention spans are even shorter when they are on the internet – they generally don’t want to take the time to read anything, they want to skim and laugh at funny pictures – and b) posting frequently keeps your blog “out there” and in people’s minds, as well as making it appear more frequently in search results. The need to post so frequently has led to a basic blog post template I call “the filler,” where people write a couple of words about what they are doing today and then post a few funny pictures of their cats. That kind of thing never appealed to me so I’ve never done it, but I understand the reasoning for it.

This brings me to my point (geeze, even my post of the usefulness of short posts is 300+ words already. Windbag.). Since I’m actually trying to attract people to the blog to support my MS 150 efforts, I’m considering some changes to how I go about this and would like your input on it. So please take a couple of minutes to answer a few questions and leave any suggestions in the comments section. I appreciate your input.

Cheers.

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

