Intervals did not almost kill me today (and more)

Today was my second intervals training day (which was supposed to be yesterday but got move to today because of my work schedule.) Unlike last week, the intervals did not almost kill me. In fact, I rather enjoyed them. Here’s the 411:

That 19.7 mph you see there is a non hill/wind -assisted JLo-powered land speed record. Only bummed that I didn’t crack the 20 mph barrier on that one. Next time, perhaps. I copied my format from last week – 10 minute warm up followed by 4 sets of 2 minutes on/3 minutes cool down intervals. These were challenging and had me fairly worn out by the end, but I wasn’t even close to as wiped out as I was last week, and I maintained a faster pace (18 to 19.7 mph this week vs. 17 to 18 mph last week), so I’m pleased with improvement in such a short period of time. As I’ve said before, I’m already feeling the benefits from intervals day in my longer rides, so I’m definitely going to keep this as part of the weekly plan and look at possibly expanding to 2 days as I get deeper into training.

____________________

It’s been a while since I’ve given you a couple of quick hit movie reviews, so I’ll pass along a couple that I’ve seen recently.

About a week ago I got to go see Super 8, and absolutely loved it. It’s just a big, fun, entertaining movie – perfect for summertime and definitely should be experienced on the big screen (though not in 3-D, because 3-D is the spawn of Satan.) It has a definite, intentional 80’s Steven Spielberg (who produced it) feel to it, and gave me some great nostalgic flashbacks to seeing movies like The Goonies, ET, and Close Encounters back when I was a youngster. JJ Abrams hangs just enough of a horror/mystery vibe to keep it from feeling too much like a Spielberg/ET retread, and I was a big fan of the “film within a film” subplot. Makes sure you stay through the credits to see the end product of this sidebar. Anyway, I enjoyed this one a lot and can definitely see myself getting sucked into this every time it shows up on cable for the next 10 years. Will give this one 3 1/2 out of 4 stars.

On Saturday I took one of the youngsters to see the latest Disney cash cow Pirates of the Caribbean, On Stranger Tides, but went with very low expectations since I did not like either of the last 2 movies in this series. I figured at worst it would be 2 hours out of the blazing Orlando heat with B entertained and motionless, and there are certainly worse ways I can think of to kill some time than enjoying a 20 foot tall Penelope Cruz. I admit that I was pleasantly surprised however, as this was by far the best in the series since the first POTC movie. It’s not great by any means, but the storyline is a lot tighter and it generally kept us entertained throughout. Ian McShane as Blackbeard with some supernatural bad guy powers was especially fun to watch, as were the cameos by Keith Richards and Richard Griffiths (whom you might know as Vernon Dursley from the Harry Potter films) were fun as well. We’ll call it 2 1/2 out of 4 stars, with the extra half star thrown in for not having to watch the painful Kiera Knightly or Orlando Bloom again.

I would be remiss if I didn’t admit though that I’m probably more excited than a 41 year old should be after seeing the trailer for the new Muppets movie this fall. Especially since it seems to feature Beaker more than in the past. He and Dr. Honeydew are the most underated comedy duo in history.

Looking down on me as I type this, Dr. Bunson Honeydew and Beaker, aka, comedy gold.

Have you seen any good movies lately that you’d recommend? The next three I’m looking forward to seeing Steve Coogan’s The Trip, the final Harry Potter film, and Nick Frost’s Attack the Block.

Cheers.

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I ready for Horrible Bosses! That looks great. Now I might have to see Super 8 since you thought it was so good. I haven’t seen so many movies that I want to. I think next up for me is Tangled and The Fighter. Not exactly theatre faire but eh, I’m catching up slowly!

    • I’ll need to get your take on Horrible Bosses first. It looks like it could go either way. I will admit to some bias towards Super 8 just because it was kind of in my wheelhouse of movies I used to see in the 80s (and I watched way too many movies back then), so don’t want you to go in with sky high expectations and then be disappointed. Just go in thinking fun and entertaining and you should enjoy it.

  1. Pingback: Flying 40s and a playlist that won’t make your ears bleed « Biking My Mass Off

Leave a Reply

