It’s a love/hate relationship

First off, let me just say thank you to everyone who has taken the time to donate in support of the MS 150. It’s really humbling to know that people out there believe in you enough to part with their hard earned money for your cause, and brings the end goal and what it will take to get there into sharp focus. So far I’ve already collected over $400 towards my goal of $2500, which quite frankly is far beyond where I thought I’d be at this stage. If you’d like to contribute please click the “Donate” link at the top right of this page.

After one too many missed rides due to the seemingly constant rain here in Central Florida, I decided to purchase a bike trainer. A bike trainer allows you to connect your own bike to it and and have a makeshift stationary bike like you’d find at the gym, only it’s your own bike so you get the same feel and fit that you do on your normal, outdoor rides. The good folks at Orange Cycle recommended the Cycleops Fluid (There’s supposed to be a scripted 2 at the end of that product name but, I’m not savy enough with the html magic to make that 2 format correctly, oh well), which I ended up purchasing.

The Cycleops

Insta-bike

I’ve taken two rides on it this week, each one hour (around 15 miles) and I’ll admit to being a bit torn. I love the fact that I can get my rides even when it is raining, and it is certainly more convenient during the week days with work and kids to be able to pop out into the garage and ride there vs. trying to fit in a ride outside. And the model that I purchased is pretty fantastic: easy to set up and connect the bike and I’m able to control my own resistance settings using my regular bike gears. If you are in the market for a trainer I wouldn’t hesitate recommending it.

That being said, I absolutely HATE riding and not going anywhere. It’s just awful. One of the great joys I get out of riding is being outside, in the fresh air and taking in my surroundings. It’s kind of hard to do that in the garage, even with the door raised to let in some fresh air. It’s the same reason why I get bored so easily working out at the gym, even if I can listen to music the entire time. The convenience and ability to keep to my training schedule far outweigh this annoyance though, but I’ll be keeping the rides I do on the trainer at an hour, max, to keep from burning out by Christmas or something.

I’m returning to the Orange/Lake County line this Saturday to get in 28 miles on the West Orange Trail, only this time I know where I’m going, so I’ll be able to give you a full report on what it is like to actually ride this trail, instead of it’s hilly, demonic sister across the Lake County line. Doh.

Cheers.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

