It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

Apologies to Mr. Rogers for cribbing his line, but man it’s a out-freaking-standing day outside. Just gorgeous. One of advantages of working where I do is that they allow us to flex our schedule and work some extra hours during the week so that we can take every other Friday off if our schedule allows, so I was able to get out and take a ride this morning instead of piling in the car and going to work. And since I feel like all I have been doing for a while is complaining about my rides, I’m happy to say that I did 30 miles this morning and it was unequivocally great – felt like I did 10.

I’ve got a 65 mile ride on tap tomorrow ahead of a 75 mile ride next weekend, and those will be my last 2 long distance rides before the MS ride on the 21. I’m still debating in my head about whether to do the 100/50 mile option over the weekend or whether to do the 75/75. I probably won’t decide until after next weekend, but I still have to believe that those extra 25 miles will be harder on the 2nd day rather than the first, but we’ll see.

Like I said, it was a really gorgeous day out (I’ve said that before about living in Florida), which means there was lots of wildlife running about, keeping me company on my ride. Bunnies were hopping about, our neighborhood alligator was sunning himself, and the momma birds were feeding their young.

(Editor’s note:, I don’t usually write about stuff like this but it’s just too bizarre not to bring up.) Speaking of, did you see the news about how Alicia Silverstone feeds her kid? She feeds them like a bird. When I saw that I don’t mean that she feeds him sparingly or gives him nothing but birdseed, she LITERALLY FEEDS THEM LIKE A BIRD. She “pre-chews” food for her kid and then, um, puts it into his mouth, or, as it was so well described in the LA Times, “deposits the masticated morsels in his mouth.” (warning, that link contains the video that she posted of herself feeding her son, which is how all this madness got public. *shudder*

That’s just so weird, I don’t even know what to say. And if I can’t ramble on for 1000 words about it, you know something’s up. (And apologies to Paula for broaching this topic, I had promised it to her, but I’m sure she’ll take the time to photoshop Alicia’s head onto a momma bird feeding her young and give it a witty “Dinner’s Ready!” caption, which is what I would have done if I really cared much about this.)

Anyway, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go eat lunch. Or maybe throw up. Definitely one of the two, and maybe both.

Cheer.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Cycling, Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

