I’m riding again, Bob Mould shreds, and Jiro dreams of sushi

I registered today to ride in the 2013 Bike MS: The Citrus Tour. I had just a fantastic time last year riding for the first time, so I’m looking forward to riding again this year and raising as much money as possible for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. I’ve set my fundraising goal at $2000 this year, and once again hope to surpass that amount with your help. (It’s never to early to donate! Click the link at the top right of this page to contribute.)

Speaking of you, how would you like to ride with me as part of a team this year?  We’ll pick a clever team name, get some cool jerseys made up, maybe get a corporate sponsor or two, and have ourselves a great time for a great cause over two days in April (20-21). Any gender, skill or fitness level is welcome, as evidenced by the fact that my old and decrepit self made it through last year. I’ve got at least 3 others definitely interested so far, so let me know if you want to join us.

Come on and ride on the fantastic voyage. You too can earn one of these bad boys.

As excited as I am to have a ride to train for, I am even more excited that alt rock god Bob Mould’s new record, Silver Age is out, and I can report that it is exceptional. Any band that plays guitar rock take note, the master is back and making you all look quite average again by comparison. Even with just a few listens to under my belt, I have no problem proclaiming that this album sits comfortably along side Mould’s best work with Husker Du and Sugar. Listen below to him absolutely shred the first single from the new album on Letterman last night.

That’s nothing but some straight up rock and roll right there, kids.

Finally, I watched a movie last night I wanted to recommend to you if you have the time. It’s called Jiro Dreams of Sushi and it is available on Netflix streaming currently. The documentary profiles sushi master Jiro Ono and his restaurant Sukiyabashi Jiro, one of the few (and the first) sushi restaurants in the world to be awarded 3 Michelin stars. Jiro has been practicing his art for 75 YEARS, and at age 85 still works at his restaurant every day that it is open, obsessing over details like the number of minutes that octopus has been massaged before it is prepared (between 40-50 minutes) or whether to place the next piece of sushi on the left side of the plate to better accommodate a left-handed guest. The attention to detail is so great that to an outsider it borders on an obsessive compulsive behavior that a Westerner would be medicated for or placed into therapy to address. Even if you don’t love sushi or fine cuisine I think you’ll find this movie fascinating and worth your time (and at 80 minutes it is a minimal investment in that department), as Jiro’s story is always compelling, and at times sad, but never boring.

Cheers.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Cycling, Movies, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

