Marriage Equality

I’m not a real big believer in “politics by quotation.” You know what I’m talking about; those folks who post 15 times a day on Facebook elaborately decorated images with historically dubious quotations by Thomas Jefferson praising (and remarkably, predicting by 150 years or so) automatic weapons or Abraham Lincoln encouraging foreign investment by name in countries that didn’t exit until the 1980s. Nor do I often use this space for political purposes. 1500 words essays on the merits of pop culture are much more fun to write, if not to read.

Sometimes, however, you find a quote that so perfectly sums up what you believe (and says it far better than you could ever hope to do so) that you feel compelled to share it. And so I share the following on this day (and I know it’s accurate because I heard the man say the words himself. And forgive the lack of elaborate decoration or histrionics about sharing this with 15 people before sundown today, lest you be cursed with bad luck for 7 lifetimes.):

“Conservatives believe in the ties that bind us. Society is stronger when we make vows to each other and we support each other. I don’t support gay marriage in spite of being a conservative. I support gay marriage because I am a conservative.”

That quote came from David Cameron, the Conservative PM of the United Kingdom. And I think it makes an incredible amount of sense, especially if you understand the word “conservative” in a historical context, and not as it has been misappropriated, in my humble opinion, by the right wing of contemporary American politics.

Others have different opinions, and that is fine, but I do believe Mr. Cameron’s, and my own, on the issue of marriage equality is the one that will find itself on the right side of history when all is said and done, regardless of what happens in the case currently before the U.S. Supreme Court this week.

Cheers.

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Tao of JLo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

