Fat stacks of cash, yo!

Don’t worry, this isn’t spam for a get rich quick scheme, despite the title. I’m not really into those kind of shenanigans (unless you’ve got a really good one, then we’ll talk). No, I’m talking here about raising some money for the National MS Society, and having a really fun night out in the process.

As the merciless little countdown clock to the right of this post keeps reminding me, I’m riding in the 2013 Bike MS: The Citrus Tour in exactly two weeks, and we had a little fundraiser on Thursday night at the very cool Odin’s Den in Winter Park to help raise some cash. I haven’t written nearly as much about my riding this year because, quite frankly, it got to be boring for me, so I can only guess how boring it would be to read about so much. Anyway, long story short, I’ve been riding a lot and am looking forward to it. And, thanks to some of you wonderful people, I’ve managed to raise around $2000 this year in the process. Here’s how we got a big chunk of that number.

odins_flier

The good folks at Odin’s agreed to host a fundraiser and to donate 50 cents for each craft beer ordered that night, as well as letting us set up a donation jar and harass beg hustle ask people for cash donations. As an incentive, anyone who gave at least $5 got to dip into my musical “Box o’ Mystery” and pull out a a free cd as a thank you. There was only one catch, whatever you pulled out, you had to keep, regardless of what it was. And let me say, after a yard sale, other sales, and giveaways, there was not much left of my once vaunted cd collection. Still, we gave away some Radiohead, classic R.E.M., and Los Campesinos!, even as the threat of pulling a Clay Aiken cd hung over everyone who stepped up like the Sword of Damocles (Mrs. Lo was a big American Idol fan in the beginning. I prefer to block those years out like they never happened. THAT NEVER HAPPENED, OK?) I’ve never seen anyone as excited though as the guy who pulled out the soundtrack to Disney’s Fantasia. (Rock on, Jacob)

The "Box o' Mystery" and the donation jar. Sword of Damoclse not pictured.

The “Box o’ Mystery” and the donation jar. Sword of Damocles not pictured.

In between pulls from the box, there were pints of tasty Cigar City Jai Lai and many fine tunes played on the jukebox. Have you seen the jukeboxes these days that let you play songs directly from your phone? Good lord, I would have gone broke in about 2 weeks had such a convenience existed when I was younger.  We live in crazy times.

Trust me, there are definitely worse ways to raise money for a good cause than enjoying Cigar City's finest.

Trust me, there are definitely worse ways to raise money for a good cause than enjoying a couple of Cigar City’s finest.

I can’t fail to give a special shout out and mention to Avaryl Buzbee, who put the whole thing together for me, promoted it, made fliers, and worked the crowd like a champ to get more donations. She even let me raid her jukebox credits.

This is Avaryl, working the taps at Odin's, not knowing that I would be too lazy to take a picture of her at the fundraiser and would instead resort to stealing this one off her Facebook page.

This is Avaryl, working the taps at Odin’s, not knowing that I would be too lazy to take a picture of her at the fundraiser and would instead resort to stealing this one off her Facebook page.

Thanks again, lady! Because of awesome people like her, I ended the night with this.

Fat stacks of cash, yo!

Fat stacks of cash, yo!

All told, we walked away with $235 from Thursday evening. Thanks so much again to Avaryl, Odin’s Den, and all of the lovely people who came out to support. One of the really cool things about doing this is that I get to meet some really fantastic people, and get reminded how truly good and generous people can be. Given all of the hellish stuff that goes on the in the world every day, that’s a great reminder to have every now and then. (By the way, if you want to donate and prove my point, there’s still time for you to do so! Just click the donate link at the top right hand corner of this page or just simply here.)

Cheers.

Posted on April 6, 2013, in Cycling, Food and Drink and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

