Friday Top Ten: The Unexpected Ten

I have this (well earned) reputation as a bit of a cranky, high brow, music snob, but, lest you think I spend all day listening to nothing but Pitchfork approved Brooklyn indie bands or outtakes of obscure 70s cult bands available only on 78 rpm vinyl, I do have my share of frivolous pop songs and mainstream music in my music library. Not a lot, mind you, but enough at least for a decent top ten list of tracks that I love that you wouldn’t necessarily expect. It follows below, in usual handy playlist form, presented mostly without comment because, really, how many different ways can you say “I bet you’re surprised that I like this?”:

Fernando – Abba

Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke (even if I feel like I need a shower every time I hear it, I’ve got to admit, that’s a solid tune)

Forever and Ever, Amen – Randy Travis (I’d rate the Robin Thicke to Randy Travis transition as a 9.6 on the musical whiplash scale)

Rock Your Body – Justin Timberlake

She’s Always a Women – Billy Joel

Anything Could Happen – Ellie Goulding

Otis – Jay Z and Kanye West

Just A Girl – No Doubt

Clocks – Coldplay

Dancing on My Own – Robyn

And, as always, here’s the Spotify playlist for your listening pleasure.

 

Cheers.

 

Posted on August 16, 2013, in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ALL Ellie Goulding is awesome. ALL OF IT! That can’t be a guilty pleasure. Either can Abba or Billy Joel, because they are classics to most people. Also, Robyn is critically acclaimed so she doesn’t count either. I will accept the others however but you need to replace those 4 with real guilty pleasures. Perhaps some Ke$ha…

Leave a Reply

