A “Cheeky” Friday Top Ten

 

This week’s Friday top ten playlist was a challenge given to me to make a playlist about perhaps the least playlist friendly subject ever, getting a colonoscopy. Never one to back down from a musical challenge and since this space has been pretty much all health care all the time for the past week, I accepted. So, without further ado I give you the Blue Moon Top Ten.

Hand in Glove – The Smiths: I’m not going to lie to you, I’m very proud of this one.

Blue Moon – Billie Holiday: So many great versions of this song, but I do love Billie’s rendition. Thought I do feel bad about associating my beloved Manchester City’s anthem with this subject, but it had to be done.

Fistful of Tears – Lucero: Name the movie quote: “You using the whole fist there, doc?”

Drum and the Uncomfortable Can: I think the second part of this title speaks for itself in this context.

The Invisible Anus – Patton Oswalt: Every good colonoscopy playlist needs a comedy interlude, right? Never let it be said that I won’t stop to lowbrow on occasion.

It’s Won’t Hurt – Dwight Yoakam: Let’s hope so at least.

Dear Doctor – The Rolling Stones: “Oh help me, please doctor.”

Blue Moon – Big Star: Different Blue Moon, but I never travel far, without a little Big Star.

Hurt – Johnny Cash: Ok, that was just mean. I feel bad for including it here. Ok, that feeling has passed. Whew.

Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now – The Smiths: Who else would have two songs included on a colonoscopy playlist? A fine bookend I’d say.

As always, here’s he playlist in handy Spotify form for your listening, um, pleasure.

Now my friends, if this isn’t proof that I’ll at least try to fulfill your playlist request, the I don’t know what is. So send them along and I’ll see what I can do.

Cheers.

Posted on September 6, 2013, in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love it, Jimmy 🙂

  2. Fletch. That was easy.

Leave a Reply

