One month

What a difference a month can make. Exactly one month ago about the time that I am writing this I was a coffee chugging, bleary-eyed, sleep deprived ball of stress, sitting in the cardiac observation unit of the hospital and waiting on the results of my cardiac CAT scan. By the time that day was over I’d learn that while there was nothing structurally wrong with my heart and no arteries were blocked at all, I had a high probability of a heart attack in the next ten years. Today I’m more than fifteen pounds lighter, sleeping 6-8 hours a night, and I get to walk my kids to and from school every day. I just got home from riding my bike and working out on the elliptical for over an hour and a half and I’m heading out to swim for an hour soon. In just that short period of time, my blood pressure and cholesterol are down dramatically, I’ve eaten lunch with my kids at school 4 times. The only red meat or pork I’ve eaten in that time was the relatively small amount of pork in collards I ate yesterday. The only chicken I’ve had is one grilled chicken sandwich during a hectic evening when the boys had a late swim practice. Otherwise it’s been all vegetables, fruit, fish and grains.

(I had another milestone of sorts today. After the above referenced swimming at the Y I changed into a pair of shorts that I have been wearing for a couple of years. When I got out of the car they literally fell down to my ankles before I made it into the house. Um, hurrah?)

The bottom line is that in just 30 days my doctor tells me that my odds of some type of cardiac event are now well BELOW average for someone my age, and I haven’t taken a single pill in the process.

What a difference a month makes. I look forward to seeing what the next 2 months bring.

Posted on September 21, 2013, in Tao of JLo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

