This, that, and the other

It is Sunday. It is beautiful outside. And I am sick. One thing I’ve discovered is that, despite being like a billion times healthier now, I am still a whining little b***h when sick. (And I’m still working through my Breaking Bad separation anxiety issues apparently) So, while everyone else is out running, riding their bikes, and doing otherwise awesome and active things, I’m lying here on the couch and watching Downton Abbey and Gravity Falls reruns…errrrr…I mean lying here being manly and watching NFL games all day. And writing a few random tidbits.

I saw, nay experienced, one of the great visual films ever made on Friday, Alfonso Cuaron’s utterly brilliant Gravity. Please go see this if you already haven’t, and, I never say this, go see it on the biggest screen possible and see it in 3D. And I dislike IMAX and absolutely HATE 3D, but this is one film that makes 3D worth it. I went to see an early showing (11AM-ish), and had an entire IMAX stadium theater to myself, which A) made me feel like some kind of billionaire rock star and B) only amplified the sensation of being completely isolated and alone. That was one of the best times I’ve ever had at the movies.

I didn’t do a top ten list this week, but I have added a bunch of new stuff to the I’m listening to playlist project, so go and check it out. One thing that I recently picked up that’s not available on Spotify and am absolutely loved is the latest Superchunk record, I Hate Music. The deluxe LP packaging is pretty amazing, with colored orange vinyl, a bonus 7″ single, and some pretty sweet artwork. Vinyl, as always, rules.

Seriously, Congress. Fix this government shutdown thing this week. We’re supposed to go the DC in a couple of weeks, and if you make me tell my 10 and 9 year old that they can’t come to DC and see the panda, I’m going full on Red Forman on each and every one of you and putting a boot in a place that you will not enjoy. You have been warned.

Are you looking for some great bargains? Our neighborhood is having our annual fall community yard sale next Saturday (Oct. 19) and all proceeds from our sale are going to support the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. We’ve got tons of cool stuff, some come out and scour Avalon Park for some deals, and be sure to stop by and see us to help a great cause and help me reach my minimizing goal. Mrs. Lo will be making some awesome homemade muffins, cupcakes and other baked treats to boot, so we’ll have your sweet tooth covered as well. As always, if you can’t make it out to the yard sale but would still like to contribute, you can follow the Donate link on the top right of this page, or simply click this link right here. And Central Floridians, if you have any stuff that you want to get rid of and would like to donate it to our sale, just let me know and I’ll be happy to take it off your hands.

Now, if you will excuse me, I’m going back to bed now, Lady Mary is about to kill a Turk and I don’t want to miss a minute of that.

Cheers.

Posted on October 13, 2013, in Movies, Music, The Dad Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

