Washington, DC: The monuments

Hey, it’s part four of the Washington, DC mega-post. Go back and relive the excitement and nonstop thrill ride of Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 with those links. Today is all about the National Mall and the monuments (as Byron loves to tell people, “no, it isn’t the kind of mall that you think!”).

The big fly in the monument ointment these days is that the amazing vista view from one end of the mall to the other is kind of marred by the scaffolding necessary to repair the damage to the Washington Monument caused by the 2011 earthquake. It was disappointing, but a relatively minor annoyance when compared with the possibility that we faced of the recent government shutdown closing down most of the monuments, or, worse, running the risk of seeing Sarah Palin there. In the end it was all good by the time we got there, and we enjoyed the beautiful weather, did a lot of walking, and saw some truly amazing and inspiring views.

(Time for my standard photo disclaimer. I left my real camera at home for the sake of convenience. The resulting shots were all taken on an iphone, so, if you hate them blame the equipment, not the photographer. Also, you should probably re-evaluate your priorities if that kind of stuff bothers you.)

THE LINCOLN MEMORIAL

On our way to pay homage to Mr. Lincoln, I grabbed this shot of the Capitol Building. Despite some of the less than stellar folks who currently occupy this building, the ideal it represents is still a glorious thing to contemplate.

On our way to pay homage to Mr. Lincoln, I grabbed this shot of the Capitol Building. Despite some of the less than stellar folks who currently occupy this building, the ideal it represents is still a glorious thing to contemplate.

My favorite spot in all of DC.

My favorite spot in all of DC.

Good morning, Mr. Lincoln. It was a pleasure to bask in your magnificence again.

Good morning, Mr. Lincoln. It was a pleasure to bask in your magnificence again.

Family selfie on the steps! Man I hate that word. It just seems wrong to use a word like that in the shadow of the Gettysburg Address.

Family selfie on the steps! Man I hate that word. It just seems wrong to use a word like that in the shadow of the Gettysburg Address. My apologies, sir.

I loved this shot, though my hands just weren't steady enough to capture it perfectly. With some editing this one could be suitable for framing.

I loved this shot, though my hands just weren’t steady enough to capture it perfectly. With some editing this one could be suitable for framing.

THE WHITE HOUSE AND GW

photo 4 (10)

We had a special mission during our visit. Mrs. Lo is a George Washington alumni, so we wanted to find her alumni brick to show the kiddos. On the way we passed by the White’s house and stopped for a photo since I’m a big Breaking Bad fan. I thought it looked a lot different than it did on TV. Wait, what?

And we found the brick! Huzzah.

And we found the brick! Huzzah.

MLK MEMORIAL

There were two memorials built since we lived in DC that I definitely wanted to see, the World War II memorial  this one, the MLK memorial.

There were two memorials built since we lived in DC that I definitely wanted to see, the World War II memorial and this one, the MLK memorial. I’ve heard a few complaints about it, but I thought it was a wonderful design. The walls surrounding contain some of MLK’s best quotes.

Beautiful and inspiring.

Beautiful and inspiring.

WORLD WAR II and KOREAN WAR MEMORIALS

Panorama of the WWII memorial. It was very emotional to see veterans returning to see the monument with their families and fellow servicemen.

Panorama of the WWII memorial. It was very emotional to see veterans returning to see the monument with their families and fellow servicemen.

The Korean War memorial is not as popular as some of the other monuments, but I think it is one of the best. Haunting.

The Korean War memorial is not as popular as some of the others, but I think it is one of the best. Haunting.

Again, there was a lot that we wanted to see that we just didn’t have time for on this trip. With another day or two I would have most definitely included the National Archives (the last thing that we cut off the list), a walk up Embassy Row, the Library of Congress, the Hirshorn and the numerous other wonderful museums and galleries in the area. We briefly considered the Holocaust Museum, but I think my boys are still a bit too young for that visit. I was fully grown when I visited and I barely was able to make it through. Standing in the rail car and the pile of shoes still haunt me to this day. Definitely in the future though. It is something that everyone needs to experience.

That leaves only the wonderful dining of Washington, DC left for tomorrow. I definitely saved the best for last.

Cheers.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh, this is such fun reliving our 2007 DC trip through your family’s eyes! Of course, we had just been married a few years, and kidless, so we walked for miles and no one complained but us. I haven’t seen the MLK monument yet. It looks … interesting. Definitely have to see it in person, as I think he was an incredible writer, among his other gifts. The Lincoln Memorial is Stu’s and my favorite, too. I got teary-eyed reading the walls there; the Gettysburg Address is so pitch perfect and stunning.

    My great uncle had been at the Battle of the Bulge, so the WWII Memorial was especially poignant. Your line about Palin was hysterical, by the way. And oh–Mrs. Lo is a hottie.

  2. It was by far my favorite place that we’ve lived. When I got bored I’d go just sit on the steps of Lincoln or go hang out in the Jefferson reading room at the LoC. With an un limited amount of money and total choice of where to live I’d probably choose there over just about anywhere in the US.

  1. Pingback: Washington, DC: The eats | Fables of the Deconstruction

  2. Pingback: The airing of the Festivus grievances | Fables of the Deconstruction

Leave a Reply

