The I’m listening to project…, rebooted for 2014

One of the more enjoyable things we did last year in this space last year was the I’m listening to… project. I intentionally say “we” here because it was a collaborative effort, with several folks contributing selections to a Spotify playlist that grew to over 117 selections by years end. I had such a good time with it that I decided to start up a 2014 version. and keep the tradition going. (Just FYI, I closed the original playlist from further contributions, but you can still subscribe and listen to it here. And Kimberly, I moved that Lone Bellow track you recently added to the newest edition already.)

I started off the 2014 edition with a track from the excellent new Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks record, as well as four others. You can participate by subscribing to the playlist and adding selections as you come across music in the coming months that moves you, makes you get up and dance, or just gets you through a hectic day. If you prefer, you can simply leave a comment or e-mail me your selections. Don’t worry about whether or not you’ll think I’ll like it, the point as ever is to make playlist that introduces people to something new and outside of their normal tastes and comfort zone. I mean, hey, somebody *cough* Katie *cough* added Florida Georgia Line last year and I let that slide without too much fuss. (J/K) Truly anything goes, so long as it isn’t named Kesha.

Have fun. I’ll post new songs to the list as I come across them. I encourage you to do the same and to check back throughout the year and see what’s new. Happy listening.

Cheers.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

