Parental face-palm theater presents…the body shape edition

The other day while getting into the car after a family trip to Target, the following exchange took place, completely out of the blue.

Son: “Why do girls have such gorgeous butts?”

Parents: *spit take*: “What did you say?”

Son: “That’s not what I meant to say. I meant gigantic.”

Well then. Later that day I eventually regained the ability to speak and asked him what had prompted that question. He said, and I remembered when he mentioned it, that there had been a woman at the store who was fairly small save for an admittedly very large backside. I explained to him that people come in all shapes and sizes for various reasons – some medical, some genetic, etc, etc – and it wasn’t a good idea to judge somebody based on their appearance, which, to his credit he had not done. His 11-year-old brain just didn’t know how to process what he had seen.

Since my son has had growth issues all of his life I figured he’d be pretty sensitive to this subject. After a moment of reflection this was his response:

“I know dad. I think you’re pretty cool even though you’re kind of fat.”

*sad trombone sound*

Um, well I guess I should look at the bright side and be happy he thinks I’m pretty cool, right?

Speaking of body shapes (this is kind of a weak transition, just go with it, m’okay?)…

I wanted to write a few words about one of the most amazing pieces of art I’ve come across in a very long time, and it comes from what is nominally a sitcom, though that word is woefully inadequate when it comes to describing this show. Below is a seven and a half-minute, unbroken, unedited segment of Louie that aired a little over a week ago. It’s an utterly brilliant scene, both for it’s content and technical presentation, in a series that is full of them (and it also happens to be NSFW for language if you don’t have headphones or have sensitive ears.)

Play it again if you need to. Savor it. It’s alternately funny, sad, endearing, uplifting, and awkward in turns, and probably unlike anything you have ever seen on TV before. If Woody Allen had written anything half that good Hollywood would be falling over itself to award Oscars to him (and then probably spending weeks wondering out loud if it was sending the wrong message by honoring such a scumbag, but still.)

This is why, along with Mad Men, The Americans, Orphan Black, Fargo, Game of Thrones and The Returned, amongst others, I say we are truly in a golden age of television, when something THAT good can appear on your screen on a random Monday night. Enjoy it while it lasts.

Cheers.

Posted on May 21, 2014, in The Dad Life, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have watched that scene three times now, and I appreciate you pulling me back into a show which I had admittedly given up on. I have this expectation from him to make me laugh once every two to three minutes and lost track of what the show was really trying to do. The wife and I are about to dive into the Americans (I admittedly dipped my toe into the first episode while in COS to make sure it wasn’t too violent for her, which is always a concern). She raced by me with Orphan Black, much to my consternation. I want to think I am waiting for Mad Men to finish so we can munge them all at once, but each time I’ve taken a peek I just can’t get into it. Is that wrong? I compare it to the Wire, Breaking Bad, etc. and it just doesn’t grab me. The Returned is still on my “to check out” list and I’ll get back with you. But to the point of this post, that scene is definitely amazing. Here’s a real tribute: the first time I saw it, I was so mesmerized that I entirely missed the fact that it was one single shot. Now -that’s- amazing writing and acting.

    • The thing about Mad Men (and Louie too) is that it isn’t like anything else on TV. There’s no zombies looming or meth dealers knocking or anything other overriding plot drivers. It’s simply about how these characters interact with each other and how the historical setting and changing culture impacts those relationships. So, any one episode may not catch your interest, but on a whole it’s massively compelling. It may not lend itself to binge watching as well because of that.

Leave a Reply

