I Told You There Was More: The Awesome Mix Vol. 3

Remember last week when I said I had enough songs in mind for multiple volumes of the Awesome Mix? I wasn’t lying. I had enough in my initial list for about five volumes, but it was just a matter of figuring out how those songs best fit together to create something cohesive. For example, Satellite of Love by Lou Reed seemed kind of a slam dunk choice for a mix that might have featured in Guardians of the Galaxy, but I had to cut it because it just didn’t fit into the flow anywhere. This time around it did.

So, without further ado here’s the next edition. Same ground rules as last time: the songs had to be available at the time the Awesome Mix Vol.2 was given (which my always attentive to detail fan boy friends pointed out was actually 1988 not 1984), they have to fit on a standard 60 minutes cassette tape, they had to flow well together with abot 6 seconds of cross fade, they had to be awesome, and perhaps most importantly, they had to be available on Spotify (still steaming about being denied some Lou Gramm goodness.)

See No Evil – Television

The lead track from one of my favorite albums ever. Kicking things off strong.

Life During Wartime – Talking Heads

Following up with my favorite Talking Heads song ever. Also TH seems like a decidedly Peter Quill-ish band.

Carefree Highway – Gordon Lightfoot

Taking the foot off the gas a bit. I genuinely love this song, even though others tried to talk me into the droning monotony of The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald, which I would have done if my intention was to get you to fall asleep or shut down your computer/ipod/other digital device in disgust.

Here I Am (Come and Take Me) – Al Green

Fills the Let’s Get It On “get sanctified through sensuality” role from the Vol.2 mix quite nicely. Preach on, Rev. Al.

Smokin’ in the Boys Room – Brownsville Station

No stinkin’ Motly Crue version needed. This song rocks.

Wrong ‘Em Boyo – The Clash

You listen to London Calling and it’s as if Joe Strummer was taunting the world. Any genre The Clash wanted to try, they could end up with a great song.

Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)

Love the original, but The Stones give it a bit more blues and elevate it to Awesome Mix status. Also leads quite nicely into…

Satellite of Love – Lou Reed

Happy to find a home for Lou closing out Side A.

*Flip the tape*

The Mighty Quinn – Manfred Mann

A Dylan song done so many ways, but I dig the MM version most of all.

Rehumanize Yourself – The Police

Man, The Police have a ridiculous number of great songs. The UK’s answer to Prince in that regard.

Ride On – Parliment

Strap in and let the P-Funk do it’s work. Kind of amazed they didn’t end up on Vol. 1 when I think about it.

Strip – Adam Ant

You can’t deny the power of Adam Ant. Just don’t try to fight it. Come to think of it, Adam Ant is actually the most Peter Quill-ish artist I can think of.

Toys in the Attic – Aerosmith

Much like Stevie Wonder, their later musical sins can’t overshadow their 70s greatness.

Save It For Later – The English Beat

It’s physically impossible to sit still while this song is on. FACT.

The Ghost in You – Psychedelic Furs

A personal favorite. Always thought the Furs should have been bigger than they were.

I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever) – Stevie Wonder

You can make the argument that this song should close out every mix ever made and I wouldn’t argue the point with you.

Here it is in handy Spotify form for your listening/subscribing pleasure.

Cheers.

Posted on August 16, 2014, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

