Now I’m just tempting fate: The Awesome Mix Vol. 5

Last week I was unsure if I should tempt fate and the Rocky curse and attempt a 5th volume of the Awesome Mix. If you every really doubted that it would happen then you probably don’t know me very well, mainly because I don’t really have anything better to do and I just really enjoy it. You can read the ground rules for the mixes and revisit the previous editions here and here.

Everything I Do Goin’ Be Funky – Don Covay

God I love this song. Bringing the funk early and often in this edition.

Gimmie Some Lovin’ – Spencer Davis Group

I loved this song growing up, and then at some point it was in a commercial or movie (or maybe both, can’t remember) and it became ubiquitous and I got SOOOOO sick of hearing it. Thankfully after a few decades of avoiding it, I can once again appreciate it for all of its goodness.

Garden Party – Ricky Nelson

I loved this song for years before I realized who sang it. You can usually win your share of bar bets before somebody gets to Ricky Nelson.

In the Midnight Hour – Wilson Pickett

Those horns.

Generals and Majors – XTC

Andy Partridge is one of the great song writers ever. And one of the best twitter follows you can imagine when he’s in the mood.

Up on Cripple Creek – The Band

Just a classic tune.

Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours) – Stevie Wonder

I’ve said it before, but I’ll take Stevie’s 70s output up against anybody’s in the history of music. Maybe even the Beatles when the moon is right. We shall not speak of the anything done after then though.

Girl From the North Country – Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash

Unlikely duet partners, but it works so well.

End Side A *flip the tape*

Stay With Me – Faces

Note for note this is one of the best pure rock n’ roll songs ever.

Up on the Roof – The Drifters

So much goodness in this tune.

Jump Into the Fire – Harry Nilsson

Harry’s one of the best pop songwriters from any era. Period.

Some Kind of Wonderful – The Soul Brothers Six

The Grand Funk Railroad version is better known, but I think this original crushes it like a grape.

Someday, Someway – Marshall Crenshaw

Pure guitar pop perfection. I’ve been trying to fit this one in from the beginning.

Starman – David Bowie

In retrospect, how did this song not appear on the original? Then again, Bowie has a lot of pretty amazing songs with similar themes.

The Unguarded Moment – The Church

There was a time when this song appeared on basically any mix tape of CD that I made. Time to revive that tradition.

All the Young Dudes – Mott the Hoople

Closing the side out with style.

As always, here it is for your listening and/or subscribing pleasure.

Cheers.

 

Posted on August 30, 2014, in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

