The best of 1975 mix tape

1975, it’s such a pleasure to settle into your warm, classic rock embrace. We fought our way through the mediocrity of the two preceding years, so we’ll gladly settle down and bask in Blood on the Tracks, Horses, and some righteous P-Funk.

Before we do that, though, I need to make a correction. About 30 minutes after I hit publish on the best of 1974 mix, Spotify announced that much of John Lennon’s solo catalog was now available on their service. Had this been the case from the beginning, at least a couple of mixes would look differently, including 1974. I took the liberty of substituting #9 Dream in for Bad Company, since both tracks are exactly 4:47. It’s good to have you with us, John. I wouldn’t make a retroactive change for just anyone.

Now, back to 1975. It’s probably the most top heavy year we’ve covered so far, with some seriously classic albums floating amongst a sea of Supertramp and Gary Wright. It makes for one of the shortest “long lists” yet, but one of the best mixes from start to finish.

Mothership Connection (Star Child) – Parliment

See, I told you it was a good mix. Any mix that starts off with some P-Funk is going to be strong.

Shelter From the Storm – Bob Dylan

My favorite Dylan song from my favorite Dylan album, though I could have picked virtually any tune off Blood on the Tracks and been ok.

Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen

How’s that for a 1-2-3 punch? Thunder Road is my favorite song on the album, but the sing along appeal of Born to Run is undeniable.

S.O.S. – ABBA

Laugh and scoff if you must, but you can’t deny that ABBA produced some great pop songs. Trust me, this is the one that will stuck in your head an hour after you listen to this mix.

Young Americans – David Bowie

Bowie at his glam best.

Still Crazy After All These Years – Paul Simon

Some people might argue for 50 Ways to Leave You Lover instead, but those people are probably unstable and shouldn’t be trusted.

Monday Morning – Fleetwood Mac

Landslide is probably the better song, but I always leaned towards Lyndsey Buckingham as my go to Fleetwood Mac performer.

Toys in the Attic – Aerosmith

It’s easy to forget how great Aerosmith was in the 70s after they spent most of the 90s doing their best to wipe those memories from your mind.

Rhinestone Cowboy – Glenn Campbell

This is one of the most perfect songs ever, and I’ll hear not a word against it.

Houses of the Holy – Led Zepplin

There’s a lot of funkiness smoldering under the surface of this one, and it takes the song to a higher level.

Redondo Beach – Patti Smith

So many good songs on Horses, but this is my favorite.

Cortez the Killer – Neil Young

You may have only heard the Dave Matthews cover of this song, and if that is the case then I’m sorry. I’m really sorry.

You’re My Best Friend – Queen

I might have made the obvious selection and picked Bohemian Rhapsody, but Cortez demands a lot of space. I ended up with the better Queen song in the process.

Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

Man, I must be mellowing on Floyd. 18 year old me is somewhat speechless right now. Perhaps all those years of avoiding Floyd like the plague have finally paid off some.

That’s a pretty strong 14 song mix right there. Here’s the Spotify playlist for your repeated listening pleasure. And don’t act like you’re going to skip Rhinestone Cowboy all the time, because you won’t.

Which one of your favorites did I disrespect in favor of ABBA?

Cheers.

Posted on October 14, 2014, in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just love these mix tapes you are compiling, Jimmy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

