The best of 1999 mix tape (?)

If 1998 was kind of a “meh” year for music, 1999 took it a step farther and was a borderline awful year, rivaling even the depths of 1973/74. It’s not quite that bad, but it is definitely in the conversation. How bad of a year was it? I had to include a Britney Spears song on this list. Admittedly, it’s the best Britney Spears song, but saying that is akin to calling somebody the tallest midget in the world or that you climbed the highest mountain in Kansas. It’s faint praise to be sure. I was half tempted to just load this list up with a bunch of Sigur Ros songs, but as much as I love their music it really just doesn’t fit the mix tape ethos. I can’t really think of any songs that I cut that I felt bad about leaving off, so instead of apologies let me just say if you couldn’t make this one, shame on you.

Only a handful of these songs would have even been considered in early years, so let’s just get to this and get it over with as quickly as possible.

Criteria for inclusion is here, and the rest of the best of the 90s mixes are here.

Moving – Supergrass

One of the best songs on this list. Not saying much but it’s a good one nonetheless.

…Baby One More Time – Britney Spears

Tallest midget in the world. See above. But what choice did I have?

Get Up – Sleater Kinney

SK acting like a palate cleanser in between courses to get the taste of that one out of your mouth.

She’s a Jar – Wilco

I almost feel bad putting this one on the list, as it is one of my favorite Wilco songs and I don’t want to sully it by association.

I’m basically running out of things to say from this point on. Most of these songs are perfectly fine but none of them are particularly exceptional. The Pavement is pretty good and marks the last Pavement album, so that’s something at least.

Strawberryfire – The Apples in Stereo

Otherside – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Sick of Goodbye – Sparklehorse

No Distance Left to Run – Blur

Spit on a Stranger – Pavement

Stop Breaking Down – The White Stripes

Pink Clouds – Superchunk

This one is pretty good.

Unintended – Muse

Sexx Laws – Beck

I do like this one a lot.

Sweet Child o’ Mine – Luna

Sure, why not.

Alphabet Aerobics – Blackolicious

I always liked this one, but let’s face it, Harry Potter and The Roots did it pretty awesomely (and the look on Jimmy’s face is pretty priceless.)

Here’s the Spotify playlist if you’re so inclined.

Am I being too critical of the year? (No.) What did I miss?

Cheers.

Posted on December 6, 2014, in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

