The best of 1967 mix tape

I’ve been looking forward to 1967 for a long, long time, if for no other reason than to have an excuse to intentionally leave Doors songs off this mix. Yeah, I think To Sir With Love is approximately 100000x superior to Break on Through (To The Other Side). This dude does not abide by Jim Morrison (except for LA Woman. That one might have a chance). Also, apologies to Pink Floyd and Miles Davis for not finding room for songs from your two great albums on here. I may be the only person alive that thinks The Piper At the Gates of Dawn is the best Floyd album, but I do love me some Syd Barrett.

To the mix then. The rest of the best of the 1960s mixes are here, and you can find the basic rules for inclusion here.

Give Me Some Lovin’ – The Spencer Davis Group

There was a brief period of time when I was 13, about a month really, where this was my favorite song of all time. I still totally dig it.

So You Want to Be a Rock ‘N Roll Star – The Byrds

Hmm, on second thought, no I don’t, because one day the internet will exist and jerks with no musical talent will write pretentious blog posts about how my music sucks. Plus, I look like a moron in tight pants. Good call, JLo.

I Never Loved a Man (The Way That I Loved You) – Aretha Franklin

How great is this song? It made it to the list instead of Respect, which also came out in 1967, so there.

The Wind Cries Mary – Jimi Hendrix

Picking a song from Are You Experienced? is well nigh impossible. This one is a personal favorite, but I could have gone three or four other ways and been just as happy.

I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Gladys Knight & The Pips

Want to really find out if somebody has excellent taste in music? Ask them which version of this song they like best. If they reply the Gladys Knight version, then you’ve got a winner. (If they mention anything about the California Raisins, you are legally allowed to bludgeon them with a shovel in 39 states. Wait, what? I’m being told that is not true. It should be though.)

There She Goes – The Velvet Underground

Yet another album where it’s basically impossible to pick just one song, but this one is just smudge better than the rest in my humble opinion. I almost wrote IMHO, but then I would have risked a shovel bludgeoning as well, so I thought better of it. The same should be true for use of selfie sticks. Or taking selfies in general. Basically, shovel bludgeoning is a vastly underused penalty and we should seriously reconsider its use. How in the world did I get to shovel bludgeoning from The VU? Oh well, let’s move on, shall we?

Ruby Tuesday – The Rolling Stones

What a tune. Too bad they named a crappy chain restaurant after it. Eat at Ruby Tuesday’s voluntarily? That’s a bludgeoning.

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

Thanks to Guardians of the Galaxy, this is one of my kids favorite songs. What would happen if you could go back in time and tell Marvin Gaye that his music would reach a whole new audience thanks to a movie that featured a kick ass, talking raccoon and a dancing, humanoid tree? He’d probably bludgeon you with a shovel, wouldn’t he? See, it really is the one size fits all punishment.

I’m A Lonesome Fugitive – Merle Haggard

I fear that Merle has been criminally underrepresented in these mixes. Hopefully this makes up for it a bit.

Somebody to Love – Jefferson Airplane

This songs practically screams 1967.

The Tears of a Clown – Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

You could make a really good case that, outside of the Beatles, nobody had a bigger impact on the music of the 1960s than Smokey Robinson. Seriously, the man wrote basically EVERYTHING.

Pleasant Valley Sunday – The Monkees

There’s real depth in this song, a rather blistering indictment of the blandness of suburban life hidden behind a pleasant, jaunty tune.

Jackson – Johnny & June Carter Cash

If you ever doubted bond between Johnny and June Carter, just listen to the playful banter between the two in this gem.

Once I Was – Tim Buckley

As unique and powerful a voice as you’ll find on any of these mixes.

Waterloo Sunset – The Kinks

In many ways this is kind of a bizarro companion piece to Pleasant Valley Sunday, only it celebrates the bustling urban life.

Happy Together – The Turtles

Possibly the prototype late 60s pop rock song.

Soul Man – Sam & Dave

As much as I loved the Blues Brothers, the original crushes their version like a grape and then grounds it into a fine cabernet, or possibly a merlot.

When Joanna Loved Me – Scott Walker

Along with Tim Buckley and Leonard Cohen, Walker was and remains king of the melancholy crooners.

Tales of Brave Ulysses – Cream

2:46 in length, which gives it the upper hand over Sunshine of Your Love.

To Sir, With Love – Lulu

Hey Doors, To Sir, With Love has a classic Sidney Poitier movie on its side. You don’t have a Sidney Poitier movie, do you? Didn’t think so.

All Along The Watchtower – Bob Dylan

Hendrix took this song and made it his own (as well as a completely different animal), but I’m always partial to the original.

I’m not going to lie to you, making fun of the Doors never gets old. Here’s the Spotify playlist for your listening/subscribing pleasure.

spotify:user:jlo3133:playlist:6EX3nPxeku0XJyWE64JI8i

Only two more mix tapes to go! How did I do? Does my dislike of the Doors come through clear enough?

Cheers.

Posted on May 22, 2015, in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

